Originally posted on MAKE:

borax

You’re going to need borax.

I make no bones about my love of making items from scratch whenever possible. Food, household cleaners, detergents – nothing is safe from my frugal tendencies. Recently, I set my sights on making something so unnatural, most people have never thought about what it’s made of:  dishwasher detergent.

Most things I tried are verified by pseudo science, prone to markups, and sometimes ineffective. It’s fairly common to run something through the dishwasher twice – and I see that as a waste of time and money.

Just like any other do it yourself project, there was a lot of trial and error in creating a good dishwashing detergent. I weeded out the duds before coming across the following recipe. With a few tweaks, I finally found exactly what I was looking for. These little cubes are great for using in the dishwasher.

Supplies

  • 1 cup…

View original 223 more words

Your Thoughts

